The Forest Nymph

The Forest Nymph

Sunday afternoon, taking a break from a hectic week, I found myself deep in a forested place. The air is cool with a slight breeze, scented with the refreshing smell of the trees’ foliage. I wasn’t alone, there were birds all around, majestic eagles, hornbills with their colorful beaks, parrots and mynahs. The crocs and the iguanas were there too to keep me company. I wander around, going deeper and deeper into the woods. The trees seem to be egging me to go in, the canopies becoming thicker, blocking the light, I wonder, what’s in there beyond?
There is a break, a sound of laughter, people? here? couldn’t be, silence, not a hush could be heard, suddenly I saw her, at the edge of the lake, garbed in colorful cloth, gesturing to somebody unseen. A youthful, and beautiful maiden, a Nymph deep in the woods. I said to myself, Is This real?….

Of course it is, In an instant I find myself shot back in the real world, in a park in the center of the city, among people frolicking, picnicking. This place called the Wildlife Center, where rescued animals are rehabilitated and made ready for release back to the wild.

Leave a comment